Florida is one of the most populous states in the US with about 21 million citizens. Florida residents run the risk of getting hurt at every turn due to the large population and the state's unending beaches and roads. The injured can receive the money they are due after an accident thanks to Florida's personal injury statute. The most common type of relief for injuries is monetary compensation, sometimes known as damages.
We'll include state-specific information on legal claims resulting from car accidents and injuries in this guide. You might be entitled to compensation if you were hurt in a car accident in Florida.
Car Insurance Laws in Florida
Florida law mandates that all drivers obtain auto insurance and have a copy of their policy in their vehicle. Florida law stipulates that drivers must carry a minimum of $10,000 in property damage liability insurance and $10,000 in personal injury protection. PIP covers expenses not related to property, such as lost wages and personal injuries.
Since Florida is a "no-fault" state, each person's insurance carrier is responsible for covering their accident-related costs, regardless of who was at fault. An individual may be entitled to sue another party for additional damages by filing a personal injury lawsuit if an accident results in more damage or injuries than their insurance coverage can pay for.
Any motor collision must be reported to your insurer right after the accident. After receiving all the facts specified in your crash report or any previous police record, insurance companies will determine who is at fault. If you are unsure whether the claim amount will cover your injuries and property damage, avoid signing a release from the insurance company that states you won't pursue any more claims for the accident.
Do I Have to Report Car Accidents in Florida?
According to Florida law, all motorists are required to pull over and assist injured people at the scene of car accidents. The incident must be reported to local law enforcement if it results in injury or property damage that exceeds $500.
You must remain at the accident scene if there are injuries. All parties engaged must also exchange information. You should also record the names and contact details of any witnesses who observed the accident occur, even though it is not necessary by law to do so. The state of the roads and the weather are additional crucial details to be aware of. Take pictures of the damage to each vehicle so you can send them to your insurance provider along with the accident report. The report shouldn't assign blame or expressly blame the other driver; it should just mention the facts.
Understanding Comparative Fault in Florida
In Florida, you could still submit an insurance claim even if both drivers were judged to be to blame for the collision. Florida uses a concept referred to as pure comparative fault. Accordingly, the amount of money given as damages for personal distress or injury due to the claimant's responsible fault is reduced, but it is not precluded by contributory fault charged to the claimant.
For instance, if an accident caused $100,000 in damages and you were judged to be 60% at blame, you are still qualified to sue for $40,000, or 40%, of the losses.
The Statute of Limitations for a personal injury Case After a Car Accident in Florida
You have up to two years from the accident date to initiate a case if you were hurt or suffered property damage due to the other party's drunk driving or other negligence. However, you have 90 days after the incident to launch a lawsuit for injuries against a government organization, like a city bus company. The two-year statute of limitations starts when your accident-related injuries are diagnosed, even if it took some time to realize the full extent of the damage.
Was our guide on how personal injury law works for car accidents helpful? Remember, if you’ve been involved in an auto accident, you might have a case. Get in touch with a personal injury lawyer to learn more about your options and to receive the counsel you deserve.